SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION

 

On January 1, 2008 Ohio’s Sex Offender Registration laws changed.  The Federal Adam Walsh Act (AWA) was passed in 2006.  One of the provisions requires all states to change their laws to match the AWA to provide consistency across the country.  Ohio is one of the first states to enact legislation that brings our sex offender registration laws into compliance.  The classifications of offenders have changed under the AWA to Tier I Offenders, Tier II Offenders and Tier III Offenders in place of the previous classification under Megan’s law of Sexual Offenders, Habitual Offenders and Sexual Predators.  The new legislation required the Ohio Attorney General to reclassify each Ohio registered sex offender to the new Tier classifications according to their charges (See the Sexually Oriented Offenses by Tiers chart). 

 

The Tier Classification requirements are as follows:

 

Tier I Offender – A person who has been convicted of one of the offenses listed under the Tier I chart.  These registrants are required to verify their address annually for a period of 15 years.

 

Tier II Offender – A person who has been convicted of one of the offenses listed under the Tier II chart.  These registrants are required to verify their address every 180 days for a period of 25 years.

 

Tier III Offender – A person who has been convicted of one of the offenses listed under the Tier III chart.  These registrants are required to verify their address every 90 days for life.  These offenders are subject to community notification within the geographical notification area as defined by law. 

 

Stayed by Court – The classification of any sex offender who has filed an injunction protesting his or her new classification under the Adam Walsh Act.

 

Community Notification includes:  Any occupant of each residential unit within 1000 feet of the offender’s place of residence that is located within the county served by the Sheriff.  Also included in the notifications are the Chief law enforcement officer, Children Services, school superintendents, college superintendents, child day-care centers (type A and B), certified family day-care homes, and building managers within 1000 feet of the offender’s place of residence.

 

            All registered offenders are required to follow these registration laws:

 

·         Must register with the Sheriff within 3 days of arrival in the county of residence, attends school in or is employed in for three or more consecutive days or 14 days total in a calendar year.

·         Must give at least a 20 day notice prior to a change of address.

·         In addition to the residence, must register employment, school or institution of higher education.

·         Not permitted to establish a residence with 1000 feet of a school premises, preschool or child day-care center.  (The law does not provide a criminal penalty for an offender who violates this section, but provides a means through a civil process in which a judge may order the offender to move).

·         Must register all vehicles (including motor vehicles, boats, aircraft, ATV, recreational, trailers, motorcycles etc) that the offender owns, registers, operations as part of his/her employment or regularly has available to operate; any e-mail addresses, internet identifiers and telephone numbers registered to or used by the offender.

 

Click here for a list of Sex Offenders living in Lorain County or to sign up for e-mail notification of sex offenders moving into your neighborhood.
 
Click below for complete description of Sexually Oriented Offenses.